Latest News & Info

Photo album updated: Click below for the PHOTO ALBUM__(then choose "Slideshow")
December 2017 California State Championship (GA79)
December 2016 California State Championship (GA78)
December 2015 California State Championship (GA76)

William Reeves & Kubi Ugurlu tied with 8 Master Points to win the DECEMBER point's race. Our 2017 Master Pointís race is over, with Ergin Bayrak becoming our 2017 Player-of-the-Year. To see the details: (Choose menu item -- 'Year-to-Date Points'). ** We had no first time winner this month. Congratulations to all the master point winners!

Results for: Gammon Associates' CALIFORNIA STATE CHAMPIONSHIP Backgammon Tournament Dec. 1-2-3, 2017

held at: HILTON Hotel (LAX) Los Angeles, California

--Final RESULTS (click here)-- 2017 CA State CHMP

Click below for the PHOTO ALBUM__(then choose "Slideshow")
December 2017 California State Championship (GA79)

RESULTS of: Gammon Associates' VIETOR CUP, Invitational September 2017

held at: Jon Vietor's Home Carlsbad, California ----R E S U L T S ---- 22 players ($300 entry) Swiss format Record 1st 9-2 Odis Chenault Berkeley, CA 2nd 8-3 Ray Fogerlund Las Vegas, NV 3rd 7-3 John Rockwell Beverly Hills, CA 4th/6th 6-3 Doug Mayfield Woodland Hills, CA 4th/6th 6-3 Ara Melkonians San Diego, CA 4th/6th 6-3 Val Ovespyan Los Angeles, CA 2017 Winner--Odis Chenault
SEPT 2016 VIETOR CUP --full album (Choose Slideshow)

2018's will be at the VIETOR residence in Carlsbad, CA
SEPT 2015 VIETOR CUP --full album (Choose Slideshow)

At our Weekly Tournaments we award Master Points to prize winners. In addition, Bonus Point tournaments (an extra 3,2,& 1 points are added on) are the last playing Wednesday & Sunday each month. In those events, the Master Points are 8,5,3,3,1,1,1,1 for 1st thru 8th (or 7,4,2,2,1,1,1,1) depending on the number of rounds played (6 or 5).
NOTE: The top 16 players, from each venue, at year-end will be invited to the "Tournament of 2013 Champions" on February 9th, 2014. For those who qualify at both locations, they will receive a bye into round-2.
Tournament of 2015 Champions (held February 2016): Maeis Petrosian overcame four opponents to win our 'Tournament of 2015 Champions'. This event is by invitation only and consists of the top-16 players (from each of our two weekly venues) based on Master Points achieved during those weekly tournaments throughout 2015. In the early years it was only the top-16, (e.g total points) across both venues. However starting in 2004, we modified our selection criteria. Since we hold two weekly events and some players only play on Sunday or only on Wednesday, we decided to level the playing field. We began tracking the top-16 from each location. If at year-end, a player qualified in both locations, s/he received a bye into round two of the Tournament-of-200x-Champions. For 2015, We had 14 players who started in round-one and 9 more who received byes into round-two.
TOURNAMENT OF 2015 CHAMPIONS: Our top-16 players from both venues (Wednesday & Sunday) qualified to play in the TOC. Held at the EL TORITO, Feb.21, 2016. The results were: 1st Maeis Petrosian 2nd Frank Ley 3/4 Patty Johnson 3/4 Steve Sax
2015 TOP-16 at year end -from each venue